Select Page

On 4 June, the 1922 Committee confirmed the details of the election process which will determine the next leader of the Conservative Party and UK Prime Minister, following Theresa May’s resignation on Friday 7 June. Nominations closed on Monday 10 June and the following individuals will run to become the next leader of the Conservative Party and the UK Prime Minister:

  • Environment Secretary, Michael Gove
  • Health Secretary, Matt Hancock
  • Former Chief Whip, Mark Harper
  • Foreign Secretary, Jeremy Hunt
  • Home Secretary, Sajid Javid
  • Former Foreign Secretary, Boris Johnson
  • Former Leader of the House, Andrea Leadsom
  • Former Work and Pensions Secretary, Esther McVey
  • Former Brexit Secretary, Dominic Raab
  • International Development Secretary, Rory Stewart

Conservative leader election timeline:

13 June: First ballot of Conservative MPs in the leadership election.
18 June: Second ballot of Conservative MPs in the leadership election.
19-20 June: Subsequent rounds of balloting, on each occasion the candidate with the fewest votes will be eliminated until two candidates remain.
22 July: New Conservative leader, and UK Prime Minister, is announced.


Brexit debate in the House of Commons is unlikely this week as a result of the ongoing leadership election. Despite the slow down in the House, MPs will continue taking evidence from experts and scrutinising the government’s preparations for Brexit in committees. This week select Committees will examine the movement of goods in a no-deal scenario and the impact of the UK’s decision to leave the EU on investment.

To find out more about how to prepare for EU exit click here.

Your Feedback
Your Feedback
Questions? We're here to help you!
Thanks for using our brand new website. We would love to hear your thoughts and suggestions.
Our operators are busy. Please try again later
Have you got a question? Write to us!
This chat session has ended
Was this conversation useful? Vote this chat session.
Good Bad